Bekah [& Omaha] v. The Westboro Baptist Crazies

Dear Westboro Baptist Crazies (Especially you, Mrs. Shirley Phelps-Roper),

It came to no surprise to me today when I learned that you would be visiting my beloved hometown of Omaha, Nebraska this evening. Seeing as how you take every possible opportunity to express your extreme hatred for the country in which you reside as well as the people who reside in it with you, I kind of half-expected it.

Unfortunately for me, I was unable to greet you at the Westroads Mall this evening because I’m currently about 720 miles away as my classes have not yet ended for the semester. But it’s probably best, because I cannot honestly say that I would have had the kindest of words to express to you. Oh come on, let’s be honest, the words I would have expressed would have been about as far away from kind as words can possibly be. Because, basically, when you get right down to it, I disagree with everything you stand for and basically have an extreme distaste for the fact that you breathe the same air that I do — no worries though, I won’t be the one to decide when the breathing of that same air will cease because I believe that’s God’s decision.

However, I did think that I’d take the opportunity to remind you of some things that are found in the same Bible that you people-haters claim to read and believe in. I’m using the Amplified Bible in the event that you’re following along at home (doubtful).

“Teacher, which kind of commandment is great and important (the principal kind) in the Law? [Some commandments are light — which are heavy?] And He replied to him, You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind (intellect). This is the great (most important, principal) and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as [you do] yourself. These two commandments sum up and upon them depend all the Law and the Prophets.” Matthew 22:36-40

“You shall not take revenge or bear any grudge against the sons of your people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord.” Leviticus 19:18

“Live in harmony with one another; do not be haughty (snobbish, high-minded, exclusive), but readily adjust yourself to [people, things] and give yourselves to humble tasks. Never overestimate yourself or be wise in your own conceits. Repay no one evil for evil, but take thought for what is honest and proper and noble [aiming to be above reproach] in the sight of everyone. If possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave the way open for [God’s] wrath; for it is written, Vengeance is Mind, I will repay (requite), says the Lord. But if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals upon his head. Do not let yourself be overcome by evil, but overcome (master) evil with good.” Romans 12:16-21

“You have heard that it was said, You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy; But I tell you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” Matthew 5:43-44

I suppose it’s possible that there was a horrible mistake in the printing of all of the Bibles in Topeka, Kansas and those verses were left out. I doubt it, but I suppose it’s possible. In which event, I hope to see a mass letter sent to the families of soldiers, homosexuals and now the Omaha mall shooting victims apologizing for the severe emotional distress and damage you have caused. However, I suspect that those verses are indeed in your Bibles and since they don’t ring true for your message of hate that you’ve simply looked over them and left out their principle of love in your lives as well as your actions.

So, Westboro Baptist, I think it’s safe to say that if it were my place I’d have you successfully wiped off the face of the planet. But it’s not my place, because my God says that Vengeance is His (Deuteronomy 32:35, which by the way is from the same book that you quoted your reasoning behind picketing at the Westroads Mall this evening). God will have his vengeance, my Bible tells me that — he doesn’t need you to do it for him.

In closing, Westboro Baptist, especially Mrs. Shirley Phelps-Roper, leave my soldiers, their families and their unfortunate funerals alone and the stay the Hell out of my town.

Sincerely,

Bekah

5 Responses

  1. That is so sad! I didn’t hear about the Westboro Hate-filleds doing that.

    Don’t forget:

    Ezekial 33:11

    11 Say to them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, O house of Israel?’

  2. I just found out that they didn’t show up Saturday… apparently the cold was too much for them. Now I found out they are going to protest the funerals on Monday. What a shame…

  3. this is sad.. i just heard Shirley and i thought that she never heard anyone show quotes from the bible that contradicted her judging ways but i guess its not true.. =_ =

    Romans 12:21
    Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

  4. i just heard Shirley on the radio*

  5. Wow, is she for real? ‘Blind Faith’ is not the same as ‘Blind Ignorance.’ I am reminded of Donnie Darko. The character of which I speak even looks like Phelps-Roper! Though I’m sure she’s never seen it due to the ‘controversial’ characters portrayed by Jake Gyllenhaal and his role in ‘Brokeback Mountain’ with the Late Heath Ledger.

    It also seems very strange for people to picket funerals .. is it common practice to bash the dead? Will we all be looking up from Hell to see the laughing faces of ‘pure’ individual such as these? I thought God was all about forgiveness, not hate-mongoring.

    As far as I recall, Jesus was referenced as saying “Let he who has not sinned throw the first stone.” … wow, this Mrs. Shirley Phelps-Roper must have a real high pinion of herself to be throwing so many stones.

Leave a Reply

